Sitemap |  Français  | 
Consultations on Trans-Pacific Partnership free trade negotiations
January 6, 2012

The Federal Government launched domestic consultations on Canada and the Trans-Pacific Partnership (TPP) negotiations with the publication of a Canada Gazette notice on December 31, 2011.

Prime Minister Harper formally indicated his Government's interest in joining the TPP negotiations during the Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC) Leaders' Summit in Honolulu last November.

The current TPP members are: Australia, Brunei Darussalam, Chile, Malaysia, New Zealand, Peru, Singapore, the United States and Vietnam. The United States and other TPP members welcomed Canada's announcement, as well as that of Mexico and Japan, who, at the APEC summit, also stated their interest in participating in the TPP.

The TPP negotiations build on the Trans-Pacific Strategic Economic Partnership Agreement (P4) between Brunei Darussalam, Chile, New Zealand and Singapore, which entered into force in 2006. The TPP, with the addition of Canada, Japan and Mexico, represents a market potential of more than 775 million people with a combined GDP of $25.7 trillion. The TPP members are negotiating an ambitious, 21st-century agreement that will enhance trade and investment among the partner countries, promote innovation, economic growth and development, and create jobs.

The Canadian government is seeking views from provincial and territorial representatives and key stakeholders, including members of the business community, to help identify opportunities and challenges in the markets of the TPP member countries as well as barriers that limit the expansion of bilateral trade and investment.

Submissions are requested by February 14, 2012. For more information see the Canada Gazette Notice.

Terms and Conditions Governing Site Use
@ Affiliated 2007, All rights reserved.  Web design: Thrace Graphistes Conseil inc.